Merce Cunningham Trust

Summerspace 2008

DANCES Summerspace
LENGTH 21 minutes
DIRECTOR Charles Atlas
DESIGNERS Robert Rauschenberg
DISTRIBUTOR Artpix - Microcinema
MUSIC Ixion, Morton Feldman
MUSICIANS John Cage, David Tudor
DANCERS Jonah Bokaer, Ashley Chen, Holley Farmer, Jeannie Steele, Derry Swan, Cheryl Therrien
This piece is indicative of Cunningham’s unique collaborative method, in which Feldman composed the score, Rauschenberg designed the décor, and Cunningham choreographed independently from each other. Together, the movement, music and décor give the effect of a balmy, summer day. Dressed in painted leotards, the dancers move about the stage in sudden bursts of speed and suspensions, zigzagging every which way, like flying creatures. The delicate music, at times sounds like bubbles of water rising to the surface, and at others, with a muffled rumble in the bass, like distant thunder.