Merce Cunningham Trust

Interscape 2008

DANCES Interscape
LENGTH 46 minutes
DIRECTOR Charles Atlas
DESIGNERS Robert Rauschenberg
Aaron Copp
PRODUCER Cunningham Dance Foundation
DISTRIBUTOR Artpix - Microcinema
MUSIC 108 (1991) and/or One^8 (1991), John Cage
MUSICIANS Loren Dempster
DANCERS Cédric Andrieux, Lisa Boudreau, Ashley Chen, Holley Farmer, Maydelle Fason, David Kulick, Koji Mizuta, Matthew Mohr, Banu Ogan, Daniel Squire, Jeannie Steele, Derry Swan, Robert Swinston, Cheryl Therrien
The music for "Interscape" is a John Cage composition for solo cello, which can also be performed with an orchestra. Robert Rauschenberg designed the décor –the front curtain was comprised of a montage of smudged black and white photographs, and a backdrop with the same images from the front curtain, duplicated in color. The dancers wore multihued leotards, also designed by Rauschenberg. Recurring themes in the choreography are: a head thrown back, arms linked, back to back dancing and shifts of weight, sometimes in the pelvis alone.