Merce Cunningham Trust

Split Sides 45 2005

DANCES Split Sides
LENGTH 40 minutes
DIRECTOR Charles Atlas
DESIGNERS Robert Heishman
Catherine Yass
James Hall
James F. Ingalls
PRODUCER Cunningham Dance Foundation
DISTRIBUTOR EAI & Artpix - Microcinema
MUSIC Untitled, Radiohead; Ba Ba Ti Ki Di Do, Sigur Ros
DANCERS Robert Swinston, Marcie Munnerlyn, Koji Mizuta, Rashaun Mitchell, Holley Farmer, Andrea Weber, Cédric Andrieux, Jennifer Goggans, Lisa Boudreau, Jonah Bokaer, Julie Cunningham, Daniel Squire, Jeannie Steele
"Split Sides" is a work for the full company of fourteen dancers. The choreography, music and design elements for the dance were each created in two parts, or, in the case of the music, by two bands. British rock band Radiohead and Sigur Ros, an experimental group from Iceland, composed the music. Without using vocals or beats, both groups took a random assortment of sounds and fed them through electronic equipment. The décor is by Robert Heishman and Catherine Yass, and costume design is by James Hall. Each performance varies, as chance procedures decide which of the two versions of each element will be paired together. . Mathmatically, there are thirty-two different possible versions of "Split Sides." The choreography, also in two parts, each twenty minutes in length, was made, as with all Cunningham's dances since 1991, with the use of the computer program DanceForms. There are a number of ensemble (often unison) passages, and also solos, duets that feature much inventive partnering, and trios. Version 45.